Five Pillars of Islam

Abu Zain

Five Pillars of Islam

The basic principle of Islam is considered to be the 5 pillars of Islam and 6 articles of faith. The companions of the Prophet Mhamed (S.A.W) have witnessed Angel Gabrial asking the Prophet “What is Islam” in this Hadith:
Umar ibn al-Khattab reported: One day when we were with Allah’s messenger, a man with extremely white clothing and very black hair came to us. No traces of travel were visible on him, and none of us recognized him. Sitting down before the Prophet (S.A.W) leaning his knees against his, and placing his hands on his thighs, the stranger said, “Tell me, Muhammad, about Islam”. The Prophet replied, “Islam means that you should bear witness that there is no god but God and that Muhammad is Allah’s messenger, that you should perform the ritual prayer, pay the alms, fast during Ramadan, and make the pilgrimage to the Ka’aba at Mecca if you able to do so”.

The man said, “You have spoken the truth”. Umar said; we were amazed at this man’s questioning the Prophet and then declaring that he had spoken the truth. The stranger spoke a second time, saying, “Now tell me about faith”.

The Prophet replied, “Faith means that you have faith in Allah, His angels, His books, His messengers and the Last Day, and that you have faith in predestination as it is measured out, both its good and evil aspects”.

Remarking that the Prophet again had spoken the truth, the stranger then said, “Now tell me about virtue”.

The Prophet replied, “Virtue is doing what is beautiful, meaning that you should worship Allah as if you see Him, for even if you do not see Him, He sees you”.

Yet again the man said, “Tell me about the Hour (The Day of Judgment)”. The Prophet replied, “About that he who is questioned knows no more than the questioner”.

The stranger said, “Well, then tell me about its signs”. The Prophet replied, “The slave girl will give birth to her mistress, and you will see the barefoot, the naked, the destitute, and the shepherds vying with each other in building”.

Omar said, the stranger left after that and Prophet (S.A.W) ask me “Do you know who the questioner was, Umar?” I replied, “Allah and His messenger know best”. The Prophet said, “He was Gabriel. He came to teach you your religion”.

In this Hadith, it is clear what are the basic principle of Islam is that one should practice in order to be a Muslim.

Now let us look at what are the Five Pillars of Islam:

1. Shahadah - Declaring that Allah is ONE and Muhammad (S.A.W), is servant and messenger of Allah (S.W.T).
2. Salat – Performing daily ritual prayers (DAWN, Mid day, Afternoon , Sunset, and Night time)
3. Fasting – Fast month of Ramadan from dawn to dust.
4. Zakkah (Charity) – Paying calculated percentage of your wealth to the poor.
5. Pilgrimage (only for those who are physically & financially capable) – Visiting the Haj in Mecca at least once in your life time.

Posted: 2013-08-04

# of reads 2522